Beyond Retro

Sometimes it is more important to discover what one cannot do, than what one can.    -Lin Yutang

Like most vintage-obsessed souls, I spend an inordinate amount of time researching vintage items and oohing-and-aahing over the finds on other dealers’ sites. 

Over the years, I’ve noticed a few things about myself and the type of vintage that I like; most notably, the fact that I am not wedded to any one era, but that I like interesting objects. That’s it in a nutshell: I like interesting things. 

I don’t care for overtly retro styling, or exacting adherence to a time period. I’m not a display in a museum. I do find museums, historic sites, and historical films to be fascinating, but I’m certainly not trying to live my life that way. 

I just like well-designed objects, natural fibers and materials, pieces that show wear and character, things that are a little odd, and things that have a story to tell. I love simplicity, and often, outright minimalist design. But I also love the complexity and richness of a gorgeous textile object, or vintage jewelry- in small doses. 

Sometimes I wonder if there are other vintage lovers out there who are like me: those who love neutral palettes, who don’t read fashion magazines, who love the simplest things and luxury at the same time, and who aren’t necessarily looking for prom dresses from the ’50s or trend-based vintage. 

I hope so.

I think so.

And I guess I’ll find out.

Leave a Reply

